Autodarts (DIY build)
Autodarts GmbH · Germany · Website
AppiOS, AndroidBrowserDetectionWindows, macOS, LinuxA self-built rig for the Autodarts platform: three USB cameras around a 360° LED light ring, connected to your own computer running the free Autodarts board software. You play in a browser or the iOS and Android app. Scoring and online play are free; Plus is optional. Autodarts Vantage, Winmau Autodarts X and the Lens phone app are listed separately.
- 3 cameras in a ring around the board
- Your PC over USB, not included
Fig. 2 What it costsEuros, including VAT where the seller shows it
Estimate: Autodarts does not publish the price of its DIY Camera Kit. A typical three-camera DIY kit with holders costs about €79 (Click'n'Score). A light ring (for example a Winmau Plasma, £54.99, about €63) and a computer come on top. The listing does not state VAT. 6,19,21
Free without a plan
Unlimited board autoscoring, 11 game modes, core stats, the voice caller, matchmaking, scheduled tournaments and bots for X01 and Cricket. Plus only adds extras. 1,5,9
Paid plans
| Plan | Price | What it adds | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Autodarts Plus (monthly, web) | €6.99per month | AI referee, advanced 501 stats, Killer and 121 Checkout, private tournaments, a premium caller, custom dart designs and unlimited Lens matches. | 5,9 |
| Autodarts Plus (yearly, web) | €69.99per year | Same as monthly, billed yearly. | 5,9 |
| Autodarts Plus 12-month voucher (Buffalo) | €69.95one-time | 12 months of Plus as a prepaid code; does not renew automatically. | 22 |
Where to buy
| Option | Price | Region | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Click'n'Score camera holders for Winmau Plasma with 3 cameras3 holders with 100° OV9732 cameras and a 3-to-1 USB adapter. Light ring not included. | €79 VAT not stated | Germany (Kleinanzeigen) | 21 |
| Click'n'Score DIY camera kit (3 cameras, no holders)3 OV9732 cameras with preinstalled firmware, a 3-to-1 USB adapter and screws. No holders. | €59 VAT not stated | Germany (Kleinanzeigen) | 21 |
| Click'n'Score base plate with light ring and camerasBase plate, light ring, camera holders and cameras. No board, surround or computer. | €199 VAT not stated | Germany (Kleinanzeigen) | 21 |
| Winmau Plasma Dartboard Light360° LED ring. Price as listed on Winmau's Vantage page. | £54.99 VAT not stated | UK (winmau.com) | 19 |
| Target Corona VisionMagnetic 360° LED ring with power supply (UK/EU plug). | £62.95 VAT not stated | UK (target-darts.co.uk) | 20 |
Upfront is the cheapest complete purchase without a dartboard. Per year is what removes free-tier limits. 3 years is upfront plus three years of that. Subscription prices are shown as the seller lists them.
What you need
A steel-tip board, a 360° LED ring, three USB cameras with mounts, a computer for the board software, a browser or app device to play on, an internet connection (also for local games) and a free Autodarts account. Building, installing and calibrating takes some technical skill.
Key factsEach fact links to its source
- Cameras
- 36,14
- Three cameras about 120° apart: self-sourced USB cameras or the official DIY Camera Kit, which runs all three on one USB port. The kit's price is not published.
- Scoring app on
- iOS, Android, Browser1,23,24
- You score and play in a browser or in the Autodarts app for iOS (18 or later) and Android, paired with the board.
- Detection runs on
- Windows, macOS, Linux3,7,8
- Autodarts Desktop on Windows, macOS or Linux (x64 and ARM64), or a headless install on Linux (including 32-bit Raspberry Pi) or macOS. Not on a phone or tablet; phone scoring is the separate Autodarts Lens.
- Online play
- Yes11,12
- Matchmaking (501), lobbies with friends or bots and scheduled tournaments are free. Matchmaking with the AI referee and hosting private tournaments need Plus.
- Takeout
- Automatic10
- The next turn starts once the darts are pulled. Bounce-outs are not detected automatically; you correct them by hand, or with the AI referee on Plus.
- Accuracy (vendor claim)
- up to 99%13,14
- From the community-written DIY docs; Autodarts itself gives no figure for DIY builds. Results depend on cameras, mounting and lighting. No independent test found.
- Needs a computer
- Yes2,8
- A Windows, macOS or Linux computer runs the board software; the headless install also works on a Raspberry Pi.
- Needs drilling
- No18,21
- Depends on the mounts. Clip-in camera holders for the Target Corona ring need no wall mounting; the optional printed base plate goes on the wall.
- Light included
- No18
- You add a 360° LED ring (Winmau Plasma, Target Corona, Mission Torus or 3D-printed). The upfront estimate includes a Plasma ring.
Reported strengths
Reported drawbacks
SourcesThe small numbers on this page link here
- 1Autodarts homepageautodarts.com
- 2Autodarts downloadsautodarts.com
- 3Autodarts Desktop stable release manifestreleases.autodarts.com
- 4Autodarts terms of serviceautodarts.com
- 5Autodarts Play: subscriptionsplay.autodarts.com
- 6Autodarts: DIY Camera Kit releasedautodarts.com
- 7Autodarts user guide: Autodarts Desktopdocs.autodarts.com
- 8Autodarts user guide: headless installationdocs.autodarts.com
- 9Autodarts user guide: Autodarts Plusdocs.autodarts.com
- 10Autodarts user guide: playing your first gamedocs.autodarts.com
- 11Autodarts user guide: matchmakingdocs.autodarts.com
- 12Autodarts user guide: tournamentsdocs.autodarts.com
- 13Autodarts DIY documentationautodarts.diy
- 14Autodarts DIY docs: camerasautodarts.diy
- 15Autodarts DIY docs: example setupsautodarts.diy
- 16Autodarts DIY docs: FAQautodarts.diy
- 17Autodarts DIY docs: Autodarts 3D-print mountsautodarts.diy
- 18Autodarts DIY docs: Robbel90 3D-print mountsautodarts.diy
- 19Winmau: Autodarts Vantage (Plasma light cross-listed)winmau.com
- 20Target: Corona Visiontarget-darts.co.uk
- 21Click'n'Score on Kleinanzeigenkleinanzeigen.de
- 22Buffalo.nl: Autodarts productsbuffalo.nl
- 23App Store: Autodarts: Darts Scorerapps.apple.com
- 24Google Play: Autodarts: Darts Scorerplay.google.com
Changes
- Added to the comparison.
- Upfront estimate now counts cameras and holders only, like the other build-it-yourself rigs; light ring and computer are listed as extras.
- Split the device facts: 'Scoring app on' lists where you score and play; 'Detection runs on' lists the devices that run the detection.
Something wrong or out of date?
Send us a correction with a link to the source. We check it before changing anything.
Suggest a correction